Parents, usually mothers, stay at home to look after their family. People believe they should receive a salary from the government for that. Do you agree or disagree?

Due to the ever-increasing cost of living, the income of one parent is often not enough to support the family and therefore both parents have to work to make both ends meet. It is sometimes proposed that if the State financially supports either of the parents of very young children, then the need for sending children to creches at such a tender age will not arise. This essay will critically analyse this proposition by discussing the pros and cons. Firstly, it cannot be rejected that parents provide the best possible care to their offsprings. Children thrive to their fullest potential in the cozy and secure environment of their homes in the company of their parents. For example, in a survey conducted in the US in 2016, it was found that toddlers sent to child care facilities had delayed developmental milestones compared to their counterparts who spent time with their parent at home. Moreover, there is a genuine concern regarding the safety of the little child who is too young to even understand or convey any ill behaviour suffered at the hands of the child care authorities. Thus, if a parent babysits the child, chances of physical and mental abuse to the little one are much lesser. Although this proposition has several benefits, it has some drawbacks also. Often, one of the working parents has to let go of their career opportunities in order to babysit at home. This may lead to personal and professional dissatisfaction and resentment which may eventually lead to ill behaviour and apathy towards one's own ward. To illustrate, a survey conducted in the metropolitan cities of India showed an alarming 30% rise in depression rates among working women who had to babysit after quitting their jobs. It goes without saying that a depressed parent will be unable to provide adequate care and love the baby. Moreover, this is not a feasible solution in developing countries with increasing population rates. Even two working parents unable to provide sufficiently for their children's upbringing. In conclusion, it is undoubtedly true that a parent can provide the best care to one's offspring; but it is not always practical for the state to support any one of the parents monetarily. Moreover, steps may be taken to increase the duration of the maternity leave and childcare leaves of the parents.