Parents, usually mothers, stay at home to look after their family. People believe they should receive a salary from the government for that.

Some people choose to be full-time housewives since they become parents in order to take care of their children. It is argued if they should be paid by government due to their unemployment conditions. Personally, I disagree with this argument. On the one hand, people should take their own responsibilities for decisions they made. As adults, people should fully consider the consequences before they decide the lifestyles they want. While some people choose to work so that they can maintain their daily life, some parents, who select to take care of their families, should think about whether they can afford their living expense if they do not go to work. For example, many Japanese females will choose to be housewives after they get married and the husbands will be the main finance sources of the whole families. On the other hand, government has supported families with pensions and subsides for daycare already since families delivered babies. Once a family has a newborn baby, government will pay parents' pensions for their maternity leave for around one year, which should be enough for family expenses. Furthermore, parents can send their children to the daycare after they return to their jobs, which fees were covered by government, so that they can devote themselves to work without the distraction from children. In contrast, it would be unfair for those parents work hardly if the housewives got extra pay from the authority because they did not go to work. To sum up, it seems to me that government should not pay extra salary for the full-time housewives because the parents have gotten government financial support and they should take their responsibilities for their own decisions.