Parents, usually mothers, stay at home to look after their family. People believe they should receive a salary from the government for that.

In the present situation where the importance of housewife is increasing, it has been a debatable issue whether the government should do financial support for mothers or not. While some people argue that mothers deserve a salary, I contend that it is not feasible for the following two rationales. The first point to consider is that to set clear standards for the policy is almost impossible. In every sphere of human history, it is certainly true that mothers have played an important role in their family. However, modern society is very complex in that not only females act as housewives, but also males work as househusbands. What about grandmothers who care about their grandchildren or young women who care about their younger infant brothers or sisters instead of their lost parents? Some people who have never conceived sometimes carry a tremendous amount of burdens as much as that of ‘real’ mothers. Another reason that I find my perception more reasonable is that it is not achievable in terms of economy. Even if a government decided to support a salary for all mothers who had married and experienced pregnancy, the budget of the country could not be limitless. Governments are responsible for the security and well-being of their citizens. To be specific, there are necessary financial values that need to be used for issues such as national defence and rejuvenating the economy. Additionally, nobody wants to experience the failure of a ‘planned economy’. I think ‘from the cradle to the grave’ is a totally obsolete trend. In conclusion, while it seems quite reasonable that mothers deserve a salary from the government, I am personally convinced that it is not feasible based on the several rationales.