Q. Some people think a country benefits from a large proportion of young university students, others think sending young people to universities only lead to graduate unemployment.

With the advanced education, the number of undergraduates has been increasing. Some insist that a number of university students only result in rising an unemployment rate of graduates and it is not beneficial for society. Although I understand this opinion, I would argue that the large proportion of undergraduates has positive effects on society. Admittedly, there are some disadvantages to the increasing number of university students. To begin with, many young people may put pressure on themselves to have a bachelor's degree even though it is not necessary. For example, in Korea, almost people in modern society tend to go to the university after graduating from high school. Because of this tendency, some people could apply for admission to university without fully thinking what they want to be. In this sense, even if those could graduate from university, they would not be satisfied with their major. Therefore, this lack of confidence in their major could find it difficult to seek jobs. As a result, this tendency to demand higher education could not only increase graduate unemployment rate, but also cause individuals to lose time and money. However, I still believe that well-educated people influence society positively. Programmes aimed at preparing global competition for employment help university students to find high quality jobs. This is because university students can improve their ability through these programmes, competing with their peers and obtaining expertise in their field. It is a proved fact that intelligent people can bring about more benefits for economic growth than physical workers. In addition, strengthening individuals' ability in terms of their major can successfully contribute to social achievements such as health care or technology industries. As a result, developing the level of education will lead to a national growth more and more in many ways. In conclusion, according to the aforementioned reasons, the increasing number of graduates might have a negative effect on both individuals and society, but I believe that this should be seen as a positive development in many ways.