Overpopulation in many major urban centres around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

Nowadays people migrating from rural to urban areas are increasing in an exorbitant rate. Population rise in city side is becoming a global issue all around the world. This essay will illustrate some factors contributing to the problem of population explosion in cities and will also elicit certain steps to control it. There are compelling reasons for overpopulation in urban centres. The main motive of people migrating to cities is to pursue a good education which includes degree as well as higher studies. In the countryside, there is a lack of reputed universities and colleges which encourages students to move to cities to develop their intellect. Secondly, in urban areas, there is a plethora of industries and companies which provides astronomical employment opportunities to the aspirants. For example, in India, in the last few decades, numerous multinational companies have recruited a major portion of the graduates to work in their firms located in various countries. This, in turn, inspires more and more people move towards urban centres. However, the Government can solve this problem of urban overpopulation by taking various measures. Firstly, National authorities can upgrade the education system in rural areas by enforcing standards and constructing universities which makes the students to study in their own village itself. Furthermore, they can encourage the students who are doing education in rural areas by providing scholarship and concessions. In addition to this, industries should come forward to open their plants in rural areas which in turn provides job prospects in the countryside. These measures will definitely boost the infrastructure of rural places as well as mitigate the migration of people to cities. Thus, even though overpopulation in urban areas is a growing global problem, there are various means and methods available, by which the Government can prevent this from worsening.