In number of countries some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe that this money should be spent on improving public transport.

Effective transportation system is essential for the masses. It is believed by some, that large funds should be used in building new railway lines for fast moving trains to enable transit between cities. However, others believe that this money should be allocated in developing public transport which I concur. Both sides of the argument will be discussed, with a reasoned conclusion drawn. On the one side, a major reason why some people are opined that more funds should be spent on constructing new rails for fast trains is because, it will help to decongest traffic burden on major roads. Most cities are often over populated, as a result of the job opportunities available there; with many people up and moving about their daily activities, they will have to either use their private cars or public buses; hence, the traffic burden increasingly becomes overwhelming. Therefore, with the construction of new railways for fast trains, it will ease traffic gridlock. On the other side, others argue that instead of building new railways, the funds should be diverted in improving public transport, I agree; this is so because, not everyone is comfortable using the fast moving trains. It is recorded in Germany, that 50 percent of people who use fast moving train, come down with motion sickness. Additionally, public means is important for people in rural areas to convey goods to places where trains cannot penetrate. What's more is that, the maintenance of trains is more expensive compared to the regular road transport system, as seen in Germany; the country spends about 40million dollars to keep the railways active, whereas, a quarter of that amount is used to manage the public transportation. For these reasons, developing commercial transportation, should be a main focus of development. In Summary, although people believe that more finance should be spent on the building rails for fast trains to ease jams, I believe that public movement Should not be the main focus of development as it is cheaper to maintain and able to penetrate local areas where trains cannot reach.