Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads.

Some people argue that it will be more beneficial if governmental institutions invest more in railway systems instead of roads. I do not agree with this statement, since roads are more cost efficient and provide people with higher flexibility. To begin with, it is more expensive build railroads than highways when covering the same distance. Would a government decide to initiate with a railway construction, they will have to face additional costs including, building respective platforms, hiring support staff and constantly maintaining the rails. Instead, the authorities can invest in roads and use the savings in other projects, including healthcare, education or science. A recent study conducted by the students of Yerevan State University, faculty of Economics has shown that construction and maintenance of roads is 30% cheaper than that of railways. Besides that, roads and highways provide with a much wider freedom of choice and flexibility in terms of travel conditions. In other words, with a developed road network the population is able to choose whether to travel via public transportation or a private vehicle. Those people, who possess their own means of transportation will benefit more from newly built roads than from railways, and the remaining will still be able to get to the planned destination by bus or carpooling services. It will therefore be up to the traveler to decide on the timing, the cost and the route of the trip. No wonder, a research by The New York Times published in summer 2017 has shown that only 30% of Americans prefers to travel by trains. To conclude, the benefits of spending money on roads outweigh those of railways both because the former is efficient and because it provides people with alternative travel options.