Overpopulation of many urban centres around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this and how can this problem be solved?

With world population reaching 7 billion of people, most of them live in urban centres. In fact, among the last few centuries, mankind has left the countryside in order to find employment and a better life in industrial areas, yet causing a problem of cities overpopulation. In my opinion, though, there are a number of possible solutions that have to be taken into account. A few reasons have led to this issue: one of those can be found quite back in time. As a matter of fact, it was during the industrial revolution that people started migrating front the countryside to the cities, in order to find a job in factories. With the consequence that this phenomenon has pushed industrial areas into degradation and poverty. However, there is another yet opposite reason: today third-world cities population is exponentially growing because of widespread unemployment and poverty, along with a total absence of birth control and social prevention. Solutions can be suggested to face this world-spread problem. On one hand, birth control policies should be considered as a start, especially in countries like China, India and Brazil, were the most of the so called megalopolis find place. On the other hand, the governments of those countries that are most affected by the issue, should offer a better social assistance, also trying to provide new job positions outside the cities, pushing for a requalification of the countryside, in order to spread urban population. In conclusion, urban overpopulation is a world-spread issue, which impact is exponentially growing. In my opinion, only the activism of policy makers would help changing the situation, with social sensibilisation as well as with providing a wide number of new occupations outside the city environment.