Over the last few decades, there has been an increase in international tourism. Some people think that tourism is beneficial for local communities and should be encouraged.

Over the years, technological development has made long-distance travel more convenient and safe. There was a time when crossing geographical boundaries of one's native land was immensely difficult considering the amount of time and expenditure it entailed. But with the modern world order, where almost all the nations are well connected thorough a vast network of cheap airlines, maritime transport and super-fast trains, taking a trip to abroad for the sheer purpose of pleasure has become much more common. But apart from creating wonderful memories for the tourists, international tourism has been shown to have a significant effect on the social and economic life of the native communities. In this brief piece, I would argue that along with making rich contributions to the local cultural landscape and diplomatic relations between states, international tourism boosts native economy to a great extent and on the part of the host country, measures should be taken to sustain and increase the inflow of tourists. While visiting a foreign country, tourists avail a multitude of services such as accommodation, travel, hiring guides on certain occasions, taking part in local cultural rituals, etc. Also, they tend to purchase a number of things either as memento or just to serve their daily needs. Together, all these different activities create a source of steady income for locals in tourist destinations, as many people make a living by providing services to the tourists in different capacities. Although in most places, the service providers take payment against their services in local currency, many nations allow travellers to make payment in American Dollar, or Euros which helps nation states belonging to continents other than these two to acquire foreign currency which is often helpful for their national economies. Thus, international tourism serves two different purposes at once by creating jobs and enriching economic prospects while also contributing to the foreign currency stock. On the other hand, when people of one nation visit another, they bring some elements of their own culture in the life of the local community, thereby creating possibilities for cultural transaction. It is not at all uncommon for the hosts and the tourists to form a friendly bond which has often proved to be beneficial in terms of human resource. And more often than not, it has also happened that some visitor has written their account of the place they visited, which allowed the local community to have a fresh insight into their own life from a different perspective and make explicit certain things which didn't appear as significant to them because they were all too familiar to things around them to take cognizance of it. Apart from this, international visits are often taken as a gesture of peace and friendly relation between states. This becomes especially significant for the nations which have had difficult relation in the past owing to political issues or warfare. Therefore, in terms of cultural mixing and diplomatic relations, international travelling has often been helpful not only for the host states, but also for the countries the visitors belong to. In conclusion, recapitulating our arguments we can claim with certainty that the mobility of sightseers across international borders helps sustain the local economy, creates job opportunities, serves the national interest by facilitating the inflow of foreign capital while at the same time providing a space for cultural mixing and forging diplomatic relation between states. And it goes without saying, that keeping the destination trip friendly and taking measures to enhance the tourist experience would be in the best interest of the native community.