Over the last few decades there has been an increase in international tourism Some people thinks it is beneficial for local communities and should be encouraged

Our environment is degrading at a rapid pace and preserving it of utmost importance now more than ever. A section of the society thinks that these problems must be tackled at a world level, while others differ and propose to handle them locally at the national level. This essay will discuss why changes should be suggested at the global level, but each nation should implement them and deal with their own issues separately by effectively applying a few solutions. Today we are suffering from numerous environmental problems like climate change and pollution to name a couple. Some people around the globe believe that an international organisation like the United Nations should intervene and handle them. Moreover, they firmly support the notion that such a body will be able to solve all these environmental hazards of the world. For instance, one way to reduce pollution substantially in all major cities is to put a mandatory cap enforced by an international body on the number of cars a city can have. This will in turn, decrease any major city’s suffocation from air and noise pollution everywhere. Therefore, many conceive that such stern actions can only be taken by an international organisation. Despite the above reasons, others think that every country should deal with their own environmental affairs as every country has a different problem and a different culture and even though the issue is the same, the severity differs. To give perspective, air contamination in Mumbai is worse than that in Boston and so are the habits and needs of the residents of these two cities. Therefore, both governments must work locally to eradicate it. Furthermore, each nation has its own economic constraints of what work it can carry out. These reasons bolster the idea of countries dealing with their own environmental issues. To conclude, it would be conducive if an intergovernmental body is tasked to guide governments by forming directives and standards, but the ground work to tackle the natural issues needs to be done by the locals themselves. I completely support the idea that countries must implement their own measures to alleviate environmental problems.