Over the last few decades, the media has promoted the image of thin women as being ideal. What problems has this caused? What solution can you suggest to this issue?

In recent years, the media has been continuously promoting slim women as the ideal ones. As a result, many women have to face problems of discrimination at work and are under constant pressure to reduce and maintain their weight. However, there are several measures that can be taken to solve this problem. One main issue women are facing today while applying for some type of jobs is discrimination. For instance, cinemas and TV shows tend to prefer slim girls for lead roles. This often makes it very difficult for other women who do not have an ideal weight to get selected in these kinds of jobs. To solve this problem, producers should choose the ladies based on their skills rather than their figure. People are usually more interested to see a talented woman than to an attractive body with no talent. Another concern is that some women get so obsessed to achieve the ideal weight that they adopt unhealthy practices without thinking about its consequences. These women get pressurized and they start using either weight reduction pills or stringent diets, which helps them achieve great results in a very short span of time. However, what they do not understand is by using these pills and deriving themselves from essential nutrients, they are in fact, causing inevitable problems for their body. Governments with the help of the media ought to promote the importance of both healthy mind and fit body. If women understood that being fit is by far more important than becoming thin, they would implement natural and safe methods to make themselves fit. In conclusion, promoting a thin body as ideal for women has resulted in various problems. Only when typical employers prefer skills over looks and governments promote healthy lifestyles, will these issues be resolved.