Over sugar consumption is unhealthy. Some people think that governments should take responsibility to control it. Others think that individuals should take responsibility of sugar intake.

High intake of sugary products contribute to poor health. While some individuals believe the government should provide measures to reduce this situation, others say that the onus is on each person to decrease the intake of junk food. Both schools of thought are valid. However, I take a stand with those that feel that the people should watch what goes into their bodies. On one hand, the government can impose higher taxes on companies who make items that are bad for the body such as soda and chocolates. This will increase the price of these commodities. Hence, their purchase and consumption are reduced. In turn, it will lead to a generally healthier population because the incidence and prevalence of diseases linked to obesity will fall. Such policy was introduced in 2007 in Finland and the results are outstanding. On the other hand, people should be responsible for their health individually. Everybody knows what is good or bad for them and should work towards being disease-free. Living a healthy life is a personal decision and cutting down on fast foods is an important aspect of this lifestyle. I personally had to cut down drinking sugary drinks after I gained weight. This change in my habit has impacted positively on my health. Without a personal conviction, it is difficult to inculcate this good habit. Although both views are realistic, I think individuals should be in charge of their own lives and eat appropriately and not depend on the government to change their eating styles. A personal drive has to be their to cut down on fast foods. For instance, if one is addicted to sweet drinks, he will do anything to get it regardless of the price. In conclusion, the health of the people must be preserved regardless. Though the government can introduce policies to control the buying and selling of sugary products. I believe individuals should take the bull by the horn and minimize their consumption.