People believe that being literate in English allows you to acquire better jobs and thus allows one to have access to a better standard of living. Up with the statement?

These days, more and more people are learning the English language. It is opined that proficiency in the English language improves employment opportunities thereby permitting to an elevated lifestyle. I want to express my overall disagreement. English is a medium of communication. It is certainly true that communication means the exchange of information, ideas and thoughts but it can happen in any language, not just English. Knowledge of English alone cannot determine the type of jobs. A person is considered to be employable only when he has the necessary qualification, experience and learning attitude. For example, in spite of having Mandarin as an official language, the Chinese economy did very well in the last two decades. It is a multi-yen economy and global hub of manufacturing. Given the aforementioned, mere knowledge of the English language does not guarantee a better lifestyle. Lifestyle is a way or a style of living and not just about the salary or perks. There are numerous examples around us. For example, Mr Kapil Sharma, a stand-up comedian. His English language skills are not good but he is one of the best stand-up comedians of our times living an affluent lifestyle. To summarize, the English language is just a way to express your thoughts and ideas. Better job and hence lifestyle has nothing to do with knowledge of the English language. I believe that if you know the English language or any other language, you can express your views in your voice rather than the interpreter's voice. It is one' skills and subject knowledge which leads to better career opportunities and hence improves the way in which a person lives.