Over consuming sugar is unhealthy. Some people think that governments should take responsibility to control it. Others think that individuals should take responsibility of sugar intake.

Excessive eating of sugar is detrimental to health. These days, there is a persistent increase in sugar consumption. Some individuals believe that governments are accountable to control sugar intake. However, others argue that people should be responsible for curbing the levels of sugar in their diet. This essay will discuss both views and why governments and individuals are equally liable for ensuring the appropriate quantity of sugar intake. To commence with, governments have complete control to regulate the acceptable quantity of sugar in food items. They can frequently audit different food products to ensure whether companies are adhering to the required standards of sugar and other ingredients in their products. Factories, which found guilty of breaking the rules should be penalized. For instance, the Indian government fined Nestle with 1 million dollars in 2010 for increasing the required sugar levels in their biscuits. This way, governments can ensure healthy eating options for the citizens. However, many people ascertain that individuals are responsible for controlling sugar levels in their food. They often reason that every person requires a different quantity of sugar in his meal. Since a person has better control over his diet, he can ensure the optimal level of sugar and alleviate diseases such as obesity and diabetes. For example, I often buy food products, which are low in sugar quantity. I also prefer to purchase sugar-free items to control my sugar intake. In my opinion, governments and individuals both are responsible for controlling the sugar levels. Governments should keep an eye on food items and audit them regularly to ensure appropriate sugar quantity. Individuals should check appropriate sugar requirements in their diets and understand the harmful effects of excessive sugar consumption.