Over-fishing has become a very common practice in many countries. What do you think are the effects of over-fishing?

Fish population in seas, lakes and rivers are falling sharply and over-fishing is the main reason for this. Many Asian and European countries had plenty of fishes but these days many fish species have become numbered and it has terrible impacts. Without imposing strict laws to stop uncontrolled fishing and investing money on improving natural habitats of fishes, we will have only stories of fishes and bear great losses. Fishes in many parts of the world are killed early and they do not get time to reproduce. Without government’s initiatives and proper policy, the condition will deteriorate as the greedy fishers would not spare any fish from their nets. As a consequence, the marine life would lose its balance and many fish species would get extinct. To prevent it the government must have a strong surveillance to stop killing the baby fish. As a direct result of over-fishing, many popular fish species have become very expensive and rare. For instance, Hilsha, the national fish of Bangladesh, is facing an acute threat of over-fishing and have become numbered. This has a negative economic impact as the country used to export this fish in many western countries. Due to the exhaustive and indiscriminating fishing, many rivers, lakes and canals are void of fishes and more fishermen are finding it hard to live by fishing. Many governments have already taken steps by declaring many rivers, sea areas and canals restricted and marking commercial fishing prohibited in certain seasons, and this is making the livelihood of many fishermen hard. In conclusion, over-fishing must be stopped now and the government must take decisions to make changes in the current practice to save fishes. Besides, the population who live by fishing must also fish prudently and always spare the baby and mother fishes for their own benefit.