Environmental problems are becoming a global issue. Environmental problems are counter-challenging the quality of life people enjoy in modern advanced societies. Do you think that environmental problems will produce better results if it is addressed globally or it should be addressed by individual countries?

Environmental problems greatly vary in terms of their magnitudes and some of these are local, while others are definitely global in nature - the greenhouse effect or global warming for example. For the best result, these short of problems should be addressed at the most appropriate levels, sometimes even at multiple levels. To begin with, some environmental problems are generally caused by a group of people in a particular region and these issues get accelerated by the rapid expansion of industrialisation in this region. These sorts of problems often include noise pollution, air pollution, deforestation, intoxicating waste disposal etc. and these are generally national in nature. It is better to address these types of environmental problems at the national level and educating people is a viable solution in this scenario. International aid sometimes can help a poor or developing country to address environmental problems but the government of the country should take initiatives to solve such national problems. Having said that, some environmental problems, for instance, common river, coastline or sea pollution concerns more than one countries and those sorts of problems should be addressed at a bilateral level. Similarly, if an environmental problem concerns a large region, for instance, a continent, that should be discussed and fought by the countries that are located on this continent. Some common examples of this type of environmental problems are desertification, soil erosion, aridness and floods. Finally, some environmental problems pervade across national boundaries and calls for multinational or global collaboration. For example, radioactive industrial wastages in oceans, ozone layer degradation, global warming are global issues and these types of problems should be addressed by every single nation in the world. For greater success and effectiveness, I believe that the commitment of countries, especially rich nations, is quite important. To conclude, environmental problems should be viewed as a common problem for the mankind and those global problems should be endorsed and shared globally by all nations. Similarly, rich nationals should help the developing nations to fight their regional and national environmental problems for the best result.