Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to alter our character traits.

Personality describes you in the sense of the outer appearance as well as characteristics. Somewhere it is assumed that, genes play dominant role in deciding a person's character and nothing else can alter this. This essay will argue, even genes play a significant role in deciding the character traits, but there are many other factors which also play an important role. Character traits include both the qualities and the negative traits of an individual. Although outer looks are mostly determined by genes, but how someone presents himself, completely depends on his environment and his learning. For instance, if a person's parents are not good looking and not having good height, the person has more chances of having average looks and height. Still the fellow can learn many things from the surroundings and peer groups, like what to wear, how to speak in public and carry himself. So surrounding has a greater impact on personality and can alter human character. Personality is also related to what you have achieved in your life. Self-motivation and attitude can drastically change a person's character. An example of this, a child of a daily-wage labour, can become a great scientist if he is self-motivated and has a positive attitude of doing good things in life. Another example is a doctor's son not always become a doctor or successful, due to lack of motivation and positive attitude. So motivation and attitude also have a greater impact on personality. As personality is "what a person is, in inner and outer sense". I completely disagree that these characteristics are completely result of genes. There are many surrounding factors which affect the character traits.