Some people say that in all levels of education, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that schools and colleges spend much of their time teaching facts and a very little emphasis is given to practical training. This essay agrees with this statement because institutes do not change their curriculum regularly and the educational societies think their primary job is to give theoretical knowledge. Firstly, educational bodies do not change syllabus every few years. This is because changing a syllabus requires a lot of efforts, and regular training needs to be provided to teachers to upgrade their skills. To avoid these situations, most educational boards prefer to continue teaching with the old curriculum. For example, a recent study by Indian Educational Society found that in the last 10 years, only 10% of the universities and educational boards upgraded their syllabus because they received funds from the government for the training of their teachers. Secondly, most educational institutions think that their main role is to impart theoretical knowledge. They think that students can learn practical skills when they start working in the industry. Therefore, schools and universities concentrate more on teaching theory subjects. To illustrate, while I studied engineering, I found that more credits were given to theoretical subjects as compared to practical ones. Therefore, I had to face a lot of difficulties, when I started my job. In conclusion, educational institutes give more emphasis to theory as compared to practical work because education experts do not change syllabus according to the latest advancements and educational societies believe that their main task is to teach theoretical concepts.