Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to alter our character traits.

I personally believe and agree that our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born. This is because we every single of us are unique and different. Only with the unique in us, we can have different ways to treat things and different ways to think. These variety of thinking can lead to innovations or even to new theories in different subjects. I respect the personality that is determined in our genes as I consider it as a part of the gift god gave to us when we were born. Although I agree to the first part of the sentence, but I disagree with the second part of the sentence which is saying that there is nothing that we can do to change or adjust it. I believe that we can change anything in the world as long as we have the heart to succeed and a determined mind. Furthermore, I believed that when we are young, we will be easily influenced and changed by the environment and the people around us. These factors may helped to shape our personality when we are young. Living near the forest when we are young may develop a personality that more willing to tyr new things. This is because he or she might already have tried many new kinds of things when they were young as there are many different and special things in the forest such as small animals for them to discover. Another factor that might change the personality is the people that is around us when we are young. This is a gigantic factor as your personality changes when you are being with a certain group of people for a long period of time. There is an idiom in Chinese called “近朱者赤,近墨者黑” This idiom can be defined as when you are near the color red, you will also become red, when you are near the color black, you will also become black. The color red symbolizes good and nice people in this idiom and the color black symbolizes bad people such as people that does not respect others. So, this idiom can be defined as when you stay with people that are good and nice, you will slowly become a good and nice person too. When you are being with people that are bad and bullies other, you will slowly become and join one of them too. From this idiom we can learn that people can be changed and influenced by other people. So, in conclusion, I believe that our personality is determined by our genes before we were born. But, our personality can be changed by people and the environment around us or even by ourselves.