Most people believe that stricter punishment should be given for traffic offences.

In today's modern era, when motor vehicles are a necessity and part of every one's life, breaking of traffic rules has become common as well. While some have an opinion that more stringent punishment should be imposed for traffic offences, others are not in the favour. Unarguably, stringent punishment for traffic offences will make people think twice before deliberately breaking them. Apparently, traffic offences are one of the major reasons for prodigious rise in road accidents, which are in some cases fatal. For instance, a new motor vehicle act in India last year introduced stricter punishments for traffic crimes, which alleviated the problem as there was a significant decline in the number of people breaking the laws. Additionally, grievous punishments such as non-bailable jail time for heinous crimes such as hit-and-run cases should be given which will foster people to follow the road and safety guidelines. Moreover, stricter punishment in terms of fines can also help government to generate additional revenue, which can be utilized for improving traffic infrastructure of the country. According to the experts, a developed country having a good infrastructure tends to have less cases of non-compliance of traffic rules by its citizens as compared to developing country's citizens. In the nutshell, without stricter punishments it is very difficult to keep check on adherence of traffic rules as humans have the tendency to give importance to the things having detrimental outcomes. Therefore, the best way to curb the problem of traffic offences are stringent laws and punishments. After the thorough study on this contentious topic, it is very clear that strict punishments are very much needed so that there is fear of consequences, which will help in better road safety index.