Most people believe that stricter punishment should be given for traffic offences.

Violation of traffic rules has become one of the biggest menace in current times, hence many people believe that there must be better rules as well as severe penalties for not following the traffic rules properly. Whereas some people might be of the opinion that the penalty should not be severe, I strongly agree that there should be stricter punishment for traffic offences and violation. The whole idea of having traffic rules in the first place is to ensure proper decorum on road and minimise accidents. Traffic rules ensure smooth transportation of vehicles and pedestrians. If people start violating the rules the whole objective will be defied. People who do not follow traffic rules and signal should be penalised with hefty amount and the challan should be immediately issued. Many accidents which take place are the result of not following traffic rules by few ignorant commuters. People break signals resulting in traffic jams and inconvenience to commuters. There are many people who use helmet only because of the fear of penalty, hence it should also be followed diligently as helmet eventually is for the safety of commuters which people at times fail to understand. Even while driving four wheelers people do not put seat belt if they do not fear penalty for the same. While on highways there should be proper mechanism to check the speed of vehicles and strict punishment should be imposed on people violating the speed limit. While there might be few drawbacks also of severe penalty as it might be used by few corrupt personnel and they might exploit innocents but I believe the benefits and positive outcome would outweigh the negatives. Therefore considering the advantages of severe penalty over disadvantages I would strongly agree that severe punishment should be imposed for not following traffic rules.