Organized tours to remote places and communities is increasingly popular Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and environment

It is true that the prevalence of tourism in remote areas has been expanded over that past few years. While I accept that it may exert detrimental impacts, I believe that this trend also bring about several advantages. On the one hand, there are two major minuses when tourists wander off the beaten tracks. Regarding to local people, cultural clashes, happening when visitors lack respects for tradition and regulations, stand out as the most discernible inconvenience. Indeed, if foreigners behave inappropriately and violate destinations’ codes of conduct, this will not only pose an unprecedented threat to social orders and tranquility, but also cause a loss of moral and religious values. Regarding to the environment, such types of travel as ecotourism or wildlife safaris make attraction thronged with tourists, and this is believed to create an excessive pressure on limited resources and infrastructures. Consequently, scenery depletion and ecological crisis are predicted to occupy remote areas due to mass tourism. On the other hand, travel to isolated regions is also recognized to be advantageous because of several benefits. Firstly, the more visitors experience local natural and cultural heritage, the more likely their images and identity of locals are to go viral. Therefore, this may help citizens raise public awareness of their importance, as well as stimulate interests and involvement in conservation, which has puzzled authorities for years. Secondly, another gain stems from financial values. In particular, in order to have the holiday of a lifetime, travelers often do not hesitate to break the bank, so their expense is thought to contribute to a massive influx of money for the destination. In brief, it seems to me that traveling to remote areas has a double-edged impact on both residents and the society.