Organized tours to remote places and communities is increasingly popular Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and environment

It is true that the amount of waste produced in the world has gone upwards. It is my understanding that this is happening because of increased production brought upon by consumerism and not enough recycling. With proper policies framed and publicized by the government, a reduction of the same can be achieved. As there is a sharp rise in consumerism, we are using more and recycling less resulting in increased wastage. As people nowadays are buying products at a rate unprecedented, companies are producing at larger volumes resulting in abundant products in the market. Due to this we buy more than we actually consume throwing the rest in the trash. Because of the belief that there is plenty more, we don’t recycle, hence, increasing the rubbish produced. For instance, earlier people use to repair broken electronics but nowadays they discard it and just buy brand new ones. Also, bulk buying is the underlying cause for food wastage as well. It is incumbent upon governments that such policies should be framed which results in recycling, decreasing the amount of useless garbage. Awareness programs should be undertaken educating the public about benefits of recycling. In addition to this, the sanitation department should be equipped so that recyclable and other trash can be bifurcated. The items which are not biodegradable like plastics should be banned and biodegradable substance should be buried in such a way that it makes the land fertile. With generating awareness about recycling and proper disposal of other waste material, surely the government can make an impact. In conclusion, there are underlying factors like overproduction and absence of recycling resulting in increased garbage around the world. However, with increasing awareness among people and modifying the garbage disposal techniques, governments can contribute in decreasing waste material.