Organized tour to remote areas and community is increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and the environment?

There is no denying the fact that tourism is growing tremendously in today’s era as travel can broaden your horizons and give you a new perspective about life all over the world. Therefore, some tours which organized to visit some far- sighted places are becoming more popular because people nowadays show a bigger prefers to see new areas. However, there are some upwards and downwards trend to both local people and the environment. Admittedly, the growth of the tourism industry has brought enormous benefits to local people. More tourists mean greater demand for food, accommodation and services, all of which create job opportunities and help to alleviate unemployment in the area. For instance, there are some museums for tourists to visit to obtain knowledge about the local history and observe some historical relics that unique to one region. The development of tourism also has ripple effects on local infrastructure, with more roads and bridges being built to meet the need of the tourists. Moreover, with the development of the area, local residents are able to earn a living by selling souvenirs such as handicrafts or postcards to visitors. On the other hand, this trend would merely bring detrimental effects to the environment of the area, particularly plants and animal species. A case in point is that, more gigantic trees would be chopped down by the local authorities to build some huge entertainment parks. The construction of buildings would definitely contaminate the area, thus affected directly to the life of local people. Additionally, many kinds of rare animals couldn’t escape the destiny of being killed to make exotic dishes to serve the demands of the majority of tourists who desired to experience new things in the area. In conclusion, the rapid growth of organized tourisms to remote destinations could bring about advantages to the lives of local people but also disadvantages in terms of environment. I believe that the government should have adopted a proper planning and policies for their own area to develop the tourism in the future.