Opinions divide concerning what plays a more important role in people's personality development, nature or nurture. What is your opinion?

People hold different opinions on the role of learned and inborn traits for personality development. In my view, both hereditary factors and learning environment are of equal importance for human formation. On the one hand, it is common knowledge that personal characteristics come from innate traits. This could be explained by the fact that genetic heredity has a lifelong effect on the development of the personality. For example, twin studies show that twins have the most similar genes and if they are brought up by different families, they will still develop extremely similar temperaments and even show the same likes and dislikes. Also, researches on genetics account for nature as a critical influence on a person’s thoughts, feelings and behavior. To illustrate this, adoption studies have been carried out and found the strong influence of genes on children’s development, which makes adopted children have little similarity to their siblings and greater similarity to their biological parents. Despite the strong proof that nature is responsible for one’s behaviour, it is not to deny the function of the environment people are raised in. Firstly, patterns of behaviour copied from parents often influence the way that children grow up. For instance, in a stable family background, if parents bring up their offspring in a very strict household, children will have a tendency to be more disciplined and independent. By contrast, numerous researches have revealed that children who come from a dysfunctional family often exhibit behavioral problems at school. For this reason, parental involvement plays a vital role in shaping children’s personality during their formative years. Secondly, in educational environment, teachers make a significant contribution to children’s personality based on their life and work experiences. Not only can this provide supportive guidance for children, but also broaden their knowledge, so that they may be able to flexibly alter their personalities over time. In conclusion, I believe that both innate biological forces and factors of the parental and educational environment have equal impacts on personality development.