Opinions divide concerning what plays a more important role in people's personality development, nature or nurture. What is your opinion?

The last 25 years have seen significant changes in people's outlook towards life and as a result, family ties notably weakened. Modernisation and changing lifestyles have changed family values of people, over time. In this essay, I will discuss some of the several factors responsible for this change and will also suggest ways in which families can develop a stronger bond. Firstly, one of the many causes, is the growth of technology and a busy work schedule. Developments and advancement in the field of Computer Science have made lives considerably easier, but have greatly hampered the family ties and due to this, young people have moved to different cities and countries in search of better jobs and improved life quality. For example, in China, there is almost a 40% fall, in joint family structures because the younger Chinese generation have moved and are moving to distant English speaking countries for career advancement opportunities and higher remuneration. Another big factor, is the rise of the social media. The younger generation is more interested in maintaining friendships and relations with their families, via platforms like Facebook, Google and Instagram, rather than, participating in social gatherings and family functions. Such as, in the U. S, now only 40% of the American population, have dinner together with their families. Also, for instance, the fast track, busy lifestyle in the Netherlands and Germany, has lead to a 30% decrease in Christmas and Thanksgiving family get-togethers. There are different ways in which this problem can be minimised and families can be brought together. Education and raising awareness about the importance of sharing a strong bond with relatives should be highlighted. As revealed by schools in Canada, where moral science curriculums have stressed on teaching children, the benefits and values of sharing close-knit ties with cousins, grandparents, uncles, aunts and parents. Therefore, more Canadians have realised the significance of relationships and are spending more time with their near and dear ones. Furthermore, the governments and multinational companies worldwide, can take steps to reduce job related pressure. They should allow more incentives and grant paid leave, so that family members can enjoy their time with each-other. To exemplify, many Scandinavian corporate companies have started a 4-day work week and have increased the wages and annual paid leave of their employees. Owing to this, there has been great improvement in the social life of the Danes and the Norwegians, where the youth is seen, spending their vacations socialising with their grandparents and cousins. In summary, the 21st century has observed prominent technological advancements, the popularity of social media, mass immigration, professional growth, and educational competitions which have impacted close-knit family structures in a negative way, worldwide. Even though, familial relationship ties today, are not as strong as it used to be in the past, the government and individuals can always work together and raise awareness to bring people together, by reducing workload, increasing wages, granting more paid leave, organising family gatherings and ensuring these implementations take place.