It is better for one to keep himself away from diseases than to spend a lot to cure.

It is the dream of every individual to build and enjoy a prosperous career. Although some people are of the opinion that in order to achieve this success a university or college degree is required, others opine that starting a job immediately after high school is preferable. This essay will discuss both ends of the spectrum and explain why obtaining a higher education would position a person for better opportunities in the chosen profession. On the one hand, starting a job immediately on completion of secondary school would translate to financial independence for the individual. Being financially independent means that he/she can afford a home or a car without necessarily waiting for financial input from parents or guardians. In addition, people who join the work force at early stages of their lives tend to gain real and valuable experiences quicker than their other counterparts. This invariably serves as an incentive for people to choose to commence work immediately after obtaining secondary certificate, however, there would be a limit to which they can progress in the corporate space. Conversely, advancing to a university or college presents better career opportunities for most people. With the labour market becoming increasingly competitive, individuals with college degrees are well suited to take up the best available roles as recruiters often believe that these people have acquired the necessary technical knowledge and know-how while studying. For example, in Nigeria, most recruiters would offer entry level or experienced roles to anyone provided that the applicant has a Bachelor's or Higher National Diploma degree. Whereas, most jobs offered to High school certificate holders are menial jobs like cleaners, security etc. In addition, certain professions like medicine and law require higher degrees before anyone can practice in those fields. It is therefore clear that without a university degree, having a profession of choice might seem impossible. In conclusion, although the thought of being financially independent at early stages sounds very tempting, I am of the opinion that to enjoy a long lasting and successful line of work, dedicating additional three to four years to study at a higher institution would bring about greater rewards.