Online shopping is significantly increasing. What effects does this have on the environment and the types of jobs required.

In present, buying items from the internet is becoming increasingly popular. In this essay, the impact of purchasing goods online on environment will be discussed as well, as the kinds of jobs demanded. A significant amount of people prefer online shopping over going shopping by yourself in the shopping center. The fact that conventional shopping is unpopular, has had a huge impact on the surrounding environment. Numerous receipts are made of long-decomposed materials such as plastic, issued to customers after purchasing a product. A slump in conventional shopping industry, led to decrease in the number of thrown checks, thus beneficially affecting nature. However, a rise in demand for online shopping has resulted in increasing number of planes flying to deliver orders. Thereby, aircrafts emit huge amounts of carbon dioxide, water vapor and nitrogen oxides into the atmosphere. To illustrate, there are 138 thousands commercial flights a day in the world. An increasing popularity of shopping on the Internet, has significantly modified types of employees requested. Professions where a person works in stores in the shopping center are now unclaimed, whereas jobs connected to delivery, such as logistician are in high demand. This also creates a huge amount of new works and give an opportunity for some employees to work from home which was unimaginable in the past. For instance, freelancer, online supervisor and web designer are newly introduced jobs. To conclude, an increase in online shopping popularity has affected environment in both beneficial and detrimental sides. Furthermore, it formed numerous new jobs as well as forced some individuals to leave their workplaces.