Online is the best way to learn foreign language, To what

Thanks to new technology, there are many more methods of available to second language learners today than in the past. However, I would agree that using the internet to self-study is the best for three reasons. Firstly, self-education enables people to study at a time and place that is convenient for them, which means they are more likely to study on a regular basis. Although I acknowledge that for many people making commitment to a group class is the only way that they can motivate themselves to study, many students find that after the initial few weeks they start skipping class because the promise of regular attendance is too much. Online self-study, however, offers students full flexibility in their learning timetable and, as the key to learning a foreign language is regular study, they are, thus, more likely to succeed. Another factor is the low cost of online study. Although it could be argued that students can also watch foreign TV programs or listen to music in other language for free, these materials are designed more for entertainment than language instruction. Many websites, however, offer high-level language learning content for free. I believe that this is particularly important for students at beginner level, who may just want to have a free taste of the language before they commit to a full paid course. Moreover, even courses that require a payment work out to be more cost-effective over time than other types of lessons. Finally, self-study gives you full control over your learning because you are able to choose your own curriculum and decide how quickly to move through it. In contrast, in a classroom environment, you have to move at the pace of the whole group, which may be too fast or too slow for your needs. Moreover, although many argue that the biggest missing element in an online course is a teacher to guide your learning, I would say that most educators give only the same narrow range of content to all their students, rarely creating courses that are totally tailored to an individual student’s need. As a result, you benefit very little from having a real-life teacher rather than a virtual one in terms of guidance, but lose a lot in terms of control. In short, I agree that computer-based self-study is the best way to acquire a second language as it allows students to study what they want, where they want, when they want and, as a result, they are much more likely to keep up a sustained learning effort.