One of your friend is going to take a year off to travel before he or she enters university. Do you think it's a good idea and why? Use specific reasons to support your response.

Since the beginning of the industrial revolution in previous centuries and the globalization of the western world in the last few decades, the consumption of fossil fuels has increased exponentially, so that, people the world over claim that finding another source of power is of the utmost importance. I tend to agree with this premise. It is a well known fact that our entire industry rely heavily on the power supplied by fossil fuels. It is similarly known that oil, gas, coal and all other forms of said fuel are both highly disruptive to our planet and also a resource of insufficient amount, likely to run out by the end of the century. Taking those two concepts into account, it is unfathomable that we still rely so heavily on materials that will either run out or pollute earth to the point of making it uninhabitable. Take the weather, for example, since the new millennia, we have seen an increase in average temperatures all over the world, record breaking tornado's and monsoons and melting glaciers larger than American cities. Expert opinion blames the human industry and especially the burning of fossil fuels for this predicament. Another example worth mentioning is Al Gore's documentary on the state of our planet, which I believe was extremely accurate and persuasive. Furthermore, knowing that developing an alternative is neither easy nor cheap, I believe that the search should be orchestrated by a global party, looking after the interest of our planet and not by the private sector whose sole interest is a financial one. An example of a global endeavour of such magnitude can be seen in health as the inception of the World Health Organization revolutionised the way we provide care around the world. In conclusion, decreasing the need of fossil fuel is an extremely important assignment that should be on every person's agenda. Unfortunately, it can only be done by locating a different source of energy, hence the importance of a global effort that can save our planet.