One of the consequences of improved medical care is that the people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

People can now live longer than those who lived five decades ago thanks to the growing prosperity and medical improvement. However, a longer life seems to bring about more problems than positive effects to their families and the society, too. In modern society, people are much more active and healthier in their sixties and seventies. They can enjoy more free time or continue their career that previous generations could not even think of. However, unfortunately, although people are physically fit and healthy, the incidence of senile dementia is on a steady increase. These people cannot take care of themselves, and have to rely on aids from their families and other people around all the time. This surely causes the rest of families great concerns and also puts heavy financial burden on them, for all expenses for their treatment are relatively high and expensive. This problem is also true for the state too. In order to provide the senior members with proper medical treatment or services, an astronomical amount of state budget needs to be allocated, according to the growing elderly population. This will exhaust state budget gradually, and more tax burden will put on the shoulder of the public. It is also true that many young couples today often blame the burden of ever-growing living costs for their inability to take care of their parents at home. But if the state has to put more taxes on them, they may eventually feel disadvantaged or a sense of inequality. To sum up, as above, I personally disagree with the idea that lengthened life expectancy has more advantages than the disadvantages due to the increased financial burden on both families and the state.