One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Many people agree with the viewpoint that the sophisticated medical technologies help people lengthen their age. However, there is a growing belief that the increase of lifespan leads to rising medical spending, which may become a burden for these countries. In my opinion, I believe that the advantage outweighs the disadvantage. It is widely believed that the rise of life expectancy affects adversely the development of the nations. Because when the ratio of the elderly goes up, the national expenditures on medical services also increase and it becomes a burden for the countries. Take Japan as an example; the annual national spending report in 2019 stated that the percentage of money, which spent on healthcare grants, holds the biggest percentage, approximately 55%. Consequently, it is holding back the development of this country because there is not sufficient money for investing on other sectors, such as economics sector, infrastructure, etc. On the contrary, because of the cutting-edge healthcare technologies and treatments, we now can cure many terminal diseases, so it will make people live longer and then they can spend more time with their families. My grandfather, for instance, now is 76 year-old. I lived with him when I was a child. He brought me up and be my best friend, who would listen everything I told to him, even the innocuous things. But he was diagnosed a lung cancer 5 years ago. Fortunately, he was treated with a special therapy and after 6 months recovering, he came back home. Thanks to the development of medical care, I got my grandfather back. To conclude, my perspective is the positive effect of the modern medical facilities overshadows the drawback.