ome people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

A minority of the population argue that the only need for studying an unfamiler tongue is for travelling or working in a new state. Whereas, the rest of the society believes that there are other purposes for an individual to gain a new language. On the one hand, the sole purpose of studying hard is to earn money in the future and to develop a good relationship. Moreover, if an individual finds it difficult to get a job, they would defintely choose to work abroad, despite the difficulties in leaning the new regulations and customs. For example, a survey conducted by the education department of Srilanka revealed that, nearly 80% of the people said that the need to work abroad is the major reason for learning a new tongue. In addition, most of the products produced in foreign nations in the past are available in every country and therefore, shopping is not a significant cause for this argument. In addition, if it is assumed that there are no other purposes other than work to affect this scenario, tourism is the best way to spend the money earned on the people’s own country. In contrast, tertiary education is vital in determining a student’s career, but the lack of standard of education in their birth place would cause them to migrate to other states to gain extra knowledge. Furthermore, medical care and worshipping their gods are other reasons for studying a new language. For example, Arabic is not needed in Srilanka for either work or education, but the piligrims travelling to Saudi Arabia require this extra language to fulfil their beliefs. Scientists have also reported that working out an unfamiliar tongue helps boost every nook and corner of the brain, eventually increasing the overall brain activity of a child. In conclusion, even though some people support that travelling and working are the main reasons, I personally believe that there are other purposes like education, medical care, religious needs that require a person to gain a new language.