Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

University is a place that gives students different subjects to study. While some people claim that studying their favourite subjects is better, whereas others believe students should be allowed to study vital subjects like science and machinery for a bright future. I agree with the first part of the question whilst I cannot agree with the second part. This essay will discuss the reasons why students should study whatever they want. Universities offer numerous majors for learners. They are obtaining various fields which deal with colourful subjects. Some of them are related to real life, and the rest is into music, sport and so on. I agree that students have rights to select subjects concerning their interests. As a result, they can be more professional in their major. For example, if students are only interested in painting but studying automation under their parents pressure, it cannot have an effect on their life. Meanwhile, they will become a good painter instead of a scientist in machinery. From this point, I second the idea that students must choose their major considering their taste without any pressure. On the other hand, I disagree with the idea in the second part of the question because of two reasons. Firstly, every individual has their own skill in society. Some can be a good computer engineer, others can become a teacher or psychologist. In universities, many subjects related to our society, and it is really important for us to understand our status in the public and allows us to be a good member of it. Science and technology often cannot give this valuable information for us. These kind of subjects teaches us tangible notions mostly, but social subjects, such as pedagogic help people, especially teachers, to understand human emotions. Secondly, as I mentioned in the above paragraphs, every person has their own interests and skills. It is up to people to bring something new into society in their field. In conclusion, I partly agree with this statement, according to the reasons. It can be a proof for people in general, parents in particular, students should be allowed to choose their subjects in university themselves.