World peace is maintained through the threat of nuclear weapons. Nuclear power also provides cheap and clean energy. Therefore many people say that the benefits of nuclear energy outweigh the disadavantages. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of nuclear technology and give your opinion.

According to some people nuclear reactors provide cheap energy and international harmony is the consequence of the threat of nuclear war. They believe that the advantages of nuclear power are much more comparable to disadvantages, but I disagree with this notion as evidenced by fewer nuclear disasters which have effected the genetic material of future generations. Admittedly, there are few advantages of nuclear power. Firstly, the superpowers in the world these days have nuclear reactors and war heads so some minor conflict between the countries pose a threat of nuclear war. This nuclear war between two countries are believed to affect not only these two countries but the entire world. Hence, the international peacekeeping organisation tries to act as a moderator to maintain peace and harmony in the region as the war would affect the whole world. For example, Pakistan and India are two neighbouring countries and minor tension on their borders pose a threat of nuclear war between them. In the past several wars were fought between these countries, but ever since the time they have become nuclear powers, the international community has come into play and play their roles to avoid this war. Hence, military weapons are in fact playing an instrumental role in avoiding conflicts. Another advantage of nuclear power may be production of cheap energy which is consumed at a larger scale by developed nations. This energy is much cheaper compared to other forms of energy and internationally, countries are utilising this excuse in order to expand their nuclear programme. On the other hand, there are many extreme disadvantages of nuclear energy as is evidenced if we turn the pages of history. The centres which were established for production of energy from nuclear fission reactions have resulted in catastrophic accidents which have affected the entire region. For example, the Chernobyl incident in Russia in 1980`s resulted in the deaths of millions of people and left many with incapacitating disabilities. It was a universal problem at that time since the radiations released as a result of accident effected far flung areas and the situation was out of control of local authorities. Moreover, these weapons were used in 1942 by United states of America on Hiroshima and Nagasaki and the entire area was devastated. Authorities believe that this incident resulted in genetic changes in DNA of people living at that time and children with defects are still born in these areas after 80 years. Hence, their effects are terrible and long lasting. In conclusion, the nuclear power may have a few pros in the form of energy but the cons it carries in the form of war weapons and the damages that were caused in the past far outweigh the advantages.