Nowdays more people are choosing to socialize online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

In present generation, most of the people are interacting socially with others through online on social networks and not meeting directly. In my opinion, I believe that there is some negative sign to socialize in online. Few people are taking advantage at online meetups. In olden days, people gets interacted directly to others. At that time, there is no any tele-communication or social networking sites. You can explore places and spend some time together. So that relationship go stronger. For example, I have good childhood friends. Because, we spent time together and play cricket and watching movies when we were free time. Now most of all the teenagers are preferring facebook, wats app and some other dating sites to interact. I have to accept that in some cases socialize in online has some advantages. If you go some new place you could not able to find friends easily. In that cases, online is the best option to find the new people. You can interact easily with facebook or instagram wherever you go. For example, When I came to Toronto first time, facebook helped me a lot to found the new friends. But there is some dis advantages choosing socialize with online. Due to privacy concern, few people trapping us using social networking sites which causes teenagers went wrong direction. In conclusion, I believe that socialize through online is easily to find new friends. But if relationship continue to grow stronger, you have to interact directly.