Nowadays, more and more people are choosing to socialize online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

Benefited from the success of information technology, people seem to prefer using social media to taking in person. This is definitely a positive development as far as I concerned. The reasons are following. Plenty of time has been saved via convenient internet access to social media. In the old days even before telephone is invented, it took at least days for people to send mails in exchange for information. Today, we are keeping in touch with our friends almost every seconds as long as we have internet access. The time wasted on waiting and arranging a meeting are obsolete and no longer needed. So, how we can refuse the obvious convenience social media offered? Indirect communication are perfect for people who are introvert or have social anxiety. There are a substantial proportion of us are not the outgoing type of person, which means talking through social media can help some of them. Even for those who have absolutely no problem with socializing, occasions when face to face communicating is awkward still exist. And social media is the exact cue for this. Take for example online dating, which has been extremely popular ever since, helps people to meet people worldwide and makes it not so award compared to real life dating. Some people may blame the isolation of people in modern society to social media, however, the point is that essentially technology offers us more alternative ways for communication, it is not compulsory. Face to face socializing is still the major means for interaction of people. Therefore, online communication is defiantly a positive development for mankind.