Governments give lots of support to artists, even though some people think it is a waste of money that could have been spent better elsewhere.

Some would argue that governments should allocate substantial amounts of money to cater for artists, such as singers and movie stars. However, others believe that it is unwise to do so and this hefty budgets should instead be spent on other sectors. This essay will first discuss both these views before coming to the conclusion that government legislators should balance their spending between all areas. On the one hand, it is believed that spending large sums of money on artists’ performances, such as movies making and music, is a great way of investment. That is to say, governments sponsor arts as a way to generate profits that would contribute to increasing the local income. Artists also play a significant role in promoting the cultures and traditions of their nations through arts achievements and that is why many people consider them as the ambassadors of their heritage and their local culture. Thus, they are worth the money being spent on them. For instance, the latest Indian movie of Sharokhan yielded millions of dollars for the local government and familiarized many people with the Indian culture. On the other hand, it is believed that government rulers should spend more on other sectors, such as building more hospitals and schools. Spending more money to promote people’s wellbeing is more beneficial because it looks after the local community and the future generation rather than frittering away money on idle art performances that are deemed to be luxurious and recreational. For example, Singapore has become one of the developed nations by dint of improving its standards of living and focusing on the healthcare sector and education. In conclusion, I firmly believe that both of the latter views are equally valid and governments should balance their spending on human’s essentials and entertainment. Art is an integral part of our lives that amuses and inspires us, while educations and healthcare facilities are indispensable for our existence.