Nowdays more people are choosing to socialize online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

At present, people are more concerned about the environment and try to reduce the impact on nature from their actions. There is an ongoing debate on that the supermarkets are responsible for minimizing the packaging they used on goods that they sell against the idea that the consumers should not purchase the over-packaged products. I think it is better both store and consumer collaboratively work together and avoiding such packaged items. Undoubtedly, attractive packaging is a marketing gimmick to convince the buyer to purchase. As a result, the marketing and advertising companies promote colourful and eye-catching packaging on the goods. For instance, the iPhone's box is nicely marketed, and not even that, it is wrapped with thin polythene to protect the cardboard box, which is not necessary. Even the cardboard box is also thrown away once it is purchased, adding garbage to the environment. Nevertheless, it is the responsibility of the manufacturer to reduce the unnecessary packaging for the betterment of the mother nature. For instance, instead of colourful wrapping, they can use the same amount of money for digital marketing such as television advertisements and online targeted ads. Hence, the argument of supermarkets reducing the packaging makes sense. Furthermore, the consumer also has a part to play, and they could avoid buying over-packaged goods. For example, recently, the Sri Lankan government imposed a law to stop the manufacturing of plastic bags. Thus, the buyers did not have an option, but to use biodegradable shopping bags. It is evident that the consumer also has a significant role to play in tackling this problem. In conclusion, I firmly believe that both the supermarkets, as well as the consumers, have a significant role in reducing the packaging used in goods in order to reduce the pollution caused by unnecessary packaging.