Nowadays young people know less about traditions and culture than in the past. What are the reasons for it? Is this a positive development or a negative development?

The young generation tend to be less aware of their traditions and culture compared to the older generation these days. This essay will discuss the reasons why this change has occurred, including contemporary culture is more attractive and lack of relevant programs from the government. This essay will also explain why this tendency has negative impacts on our society. There are various compelling reasons why this trend is being increasingly witnessed these days and the prominent one is that traditional culture is less appealing for young people as teenager always have this mindset that traditions are old-fashioned and outdated. In addition, authorities haven’t done enough to raise public awareness of the significance of the traditional culture. Take myself for example, I like spending my time on reading comic books and watching movies rather than learning more boring conventional values when I was young. Therefore, more and more youngsters have become less interested in their traditions in recent years. However, people need to realize that traditional culture plays a crucial role in shaping people’s personalities as it is an efficient way for the young generation to grasp numerous social values, such as respect, responsibility and honesty by learn our traditions that will reward them later on in the future. Additionally, it is also beneficial for the society if people can know more about our traditions and culture. For instance, a recent study conducted in Japan has revealed that people who know traditions can be more easily and effortlessly to blend in with others from different backgrounds. As can be seen, it has detrimental effects on us if the young generation know less about our conventional culture. To sum up, the trend of young people is reluctant to know traditional culture is ubiquitous these days. This essay discussed how it is often caused by lack of interest of children and cultural protection of the government. This essay also explained why it is a negative development due to these disadvantages are superior.