Nowadays, young people admire media and sports stars though they often do not set a good example. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The admiration young people hold of celebrities is not a new phenomenon. Throughout history, youths have been inspired by people with outstanding athletic ability. It is argued that this admiration brings with it more positive than negative ramifications. This will be proven by looking at how sports figures both instill inspiration and teach life lessons to young people. Firstly, celebrities often display extremely developed skills, which can help to spur young people towards a life full of the physically active. For instance, school children are often driven to exercise in an attempt to emulate superstars, such as Novak Djokovic, Ronaldo and Messi. As this additional exercise is good for their health, it is difficult to argue that the inspiration celebrities bestow upon young people is entirely a bad thing. Thus, this shows that the admiration people hold for sports stars has positive implications/reasons. Although the negative character traits of many sports celebrities are often called into question, it is felt the public mistakes professional athletes make can act as good morality lessons for young people. A good image of this occurred when Canadian runner Ben Johnson dishonourably lost an Olympic gold medal due to steroid use. This incident showed young people around the world that drug use is a shameful practice. As this example illustrates is shown, often the public errors athletes commit can act as good lessons for adolescents. After looking at the above, it is felt to hold athletes in esteem does not bring with it entirely negative consequences. It is assumed the historical admiration people will retain for sports stars is not going to change in the foreseeable future.