Nowadays there is an increase in social problems involving young people because more parents spent time at work than with their children. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In this day and age, common issues like depression, violence, drug addiction are doing the rounds around the world, observed especially in the youth. Given the intensity of these problems and how rapidly they are rising among the younger generation, doctors and psychologists are studying the causes behind it to combat the situation. The reason behind this is believed to be parents being heavily occupied with their professional lives, therefore not being able to look after their kids. I do not agree that parents should be blamed entirely for it as I feel there are other factors that are equally contributing towards it. It is true to a degree that parents are not making enough time for their children, thus getting disconnected from their lives. When kids do not get the affection and care that they require from a very young age, they grow up with a lot of negativity and frustration of always being left out, ultimately being depressed and getting engaged in different wrongdoings. In other words, most youngsters fear going up to their parents for an advice over something that they think is wrong, because they are more likely to get scolded instead of being guided. In addition, there are other factors that contribute towards the increase in common problems among young people, one of them is peer pressure. As young people tend to hang out with friends a lot, they get indulged in various unethical activities under the influence of their friends. For example, a group of friends forcing another friend to do drugs or else all of them will make fun of him and ridicule him. In conclusion, although parents should take active interest in their child’s life as it is their duty to keep a close eye on their activities and whereabouts, it is not completely the only reason for the increase in social problems. Other factors like peer pressure and misuse of social media are equally persuasive as well.