Nowadays, there is a trend of learning through distance mode of education. Why people do prefer such mode of education? And what challenges are involved in it?

In the era of technology, the trend of distance learning is booming across the globe. Every change has certain reasons, so the distance mode of education is no more an exception. But this tendency has also some problems for learners which I will discuss in my following paragraphs. The distinct feature of distance learning is that it facilitates a learner to learn from anywhere at his/her convenience and this is the reason why many more learners are fascinated to get enrolled in such programs. Moreover, it has proven a blessing for working people around the world. Working professionals wish to earn professional degrees for many reasons like getting a promotion, updating skills and satiating thirst for knowledge and to name a few. Many a times they are unable to gain such professional certificates due to workload or lack of time flexibility in regular educational programs offered by universities. But they can make their dream true by studying through open universities. There can be no two opinions for the popularity of distance learning education, however it has certain challenges also. The first and foremost obstacle for learners can be the lack of guidance. In such learning programs, students do not need to attend regular lectures so their queries remain unsolved. Apart from that, many students left their course incomplete as they are not timely motivated as they are not in direct touch with their tutors. As per the latest survey conducted, there is a wide gulf between the numbers of students registered with open universities and the numbers of students out of them completed their degrees successfully. In short, because of time flexibility and other reasons, mostly working people are interested in joining distance learning programs, but the challenges involved in it is also a matter concern. (293 words)