Some people think that economic development is the only way to end poverty while others believe that it is causing damage to the environment and so should be stopped.

Needless to say, economic growth plays a fundamental role in the development of countries. However, while some argued that the best source to combat poverty is just possible by economic growth, I agree with those who hold the opinion that such economic growth needs to be stopped due to environmental damage. On the one hand, it could be argued that removing poverty of a nation demands the country’s economic development. Those who support nation’s development say that people who belong to the poor family background are not able to treat their disease well due to shortage of money, so government’s hospital should be opened for their better health care, which results in the development of the country. Moreover, the government is set to allow people getting free tertiary education so that middle-class people can obtain an education which helps them in achieving a good job in the future. Therefore, the more literacy rate in the country, the less poverty will be. However, I believe that there are more arguments to suggest that economic development has negatively impacted on the environment. One concern is that government authority tends to cut forest for the increment of opening new universities and hospitals. I would argue that this unsustainable growth of new construction building cause to increase the greenhouse effect on the environment as it raises the carbon dioxide ratio in the air, which is extremely harmful and a threat to human life. Therefore, in my opinion, such an influential effect, brings global warming, which deters rain to fall and draught in the nations, and led to the end of the ecosystem. Thus, eventually, there will be immense a detrimental impact on agriculture. In conclusion, although it is undeniable that the economic growth assists middle-class people in job achievement by imparting education, it has led to inevitable global warming. Therefore, on balance, I believe that economic development causes environmental damage and it should be ceased.