Nowadays larger distance are travelled by people to work and study on a daily basis. Some consider it to be a negative development while others disagree.

Is it bad to commute to distant places, interact with a wider range of people of different neighbouring towns and cities? If people earn a position or career opportunity in an institution which is a bit far from their homes, or if they opt to make long journeys to learn better skills and in search of a better study or work environment, how can it be a negative development? In this essay, I will show you that travelling larger distances everyday by people to work and study has a significant positive effect on one's mental and career growth and knowledge and especially helps in achieving challenging goals. Firstly, travelling long distances for a good career better environment broadens one's horizon of knowledge and significantly enriches personal learning experience. Most of the times, a big school or company offering better quality education and higher position, are not located within a close vicinity. These kind of institutions are comparatively less in number. For instance, prestigious Universities like Oxford and Cambridge provide excellent education and it is quite natural that students from far and wide places will flock here to get a quality education and degree. It is very foolish to let go such a lucrative opportunity of studying in such top ranking Universities just because a person might have to travel far from their homes. Above all, by travelling greater distances people also do get an opportunity to interact with people outside their hometowns, cities and local area. When a person travels over 30-50 kms every day, not only can he meet the locals of neighbouring towns and locality, but also commute with them in the same bus or train, talk to them and get to know them and their culture. Also, in the workplace and school, a person can interact and make friends with people coming from far off places. As a result, there is more exposure and a chance to mix with a wide variety of populations. This healthy interaction breaks many stereotypes and makes a person humble. It is hard to imagine a life spent in a small area among a small circle of people. Moreover, some of the most developed places are those where people from far off places commute for their career. For example, people from different parts of the UK come to London to work, some commute daily from neighbouring towns like Brighton or Surrey, while others have migrated from distant cities like Edinburgh and Manchester. London provides a multicultural environment which brings people of different culture, ages, race together under a single roof and clearly London is the most developed cities in the UK and Europe. Travelling long distances has a notable positive impact on the progress of people and a country as a whole. With modern advancements in technologies, faster and advanced modes of transport are available everywhere, which helps to cover long distances within a short span of time. Subways, trains, bullet trains, buses, monorails have made life and commuting much easier, comfortable and quicker. For instance, London is connected by an extensive network of subway which links distant parts of the city and passengers can cover several kilometres comfortably within few minutes. Travelling is not a big hassle and time consuming like it used to be in the past. Finally, to conclude, I strongly disagree that travelling larger distances for work or studies by people nowadays have any kind of negative impact. On the contrary, this is a positive development which has proved beneficial in different ways. People get a wide exposure, can break their shyness and make friends from far and wide, be flexible and grab advanced positions and get admitted in excellent educational institutions and enjoy the advantages of and be a part of a developed society.