Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

Technological advancements have made actions that were seemingly impossible to do before achievable with just a click of a button. We have literally made the world smaller yet wider at the same time. Nowadays, people have used the internet to their own advantage. The improvement of our communication means broke borders and barriers. It is now easier to contact anyone from one place to another thru electronic mail, video call or voicemail. This gave everyone the opportunity to be linked and updated to each other’s lives without the hassle of waiting as what the past generation had experienced. Another benefit is that we can now make friends from around the world without going out of our home or country. This results to international friendship where culture sharing is the main focus. Of course, all things have drawbacks. Technological developments have made most people, especially the younger generation or the “Millennials” as we call them, asocial. This generation has been living their lives with all the convenience technology can offer that they have forgotten how to socialize in a more personal manner. They spend most of their days glued to their gadgets that they have lost the value of the art of conversation. Instead of going out and really talking to friends, they would rather chat and share their experiences and views on social networking sites. Modern technology will continue to change for the better. It is, in fact, in our hands how we use these advancements in our everyday living. We must understand that actions and things should be done and used in regulation. It is crucial that we foresee the good and bad effects of what we say and do. ///