Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

A true relationship between two people requires face to face communication and time to truly get to know each other. Regardless of what humans think, all individuals admire the feeling of being wanted even if it’s a lie. The digital world has created the sense that it is passable to be who anyone wishes to be online. However, I believe that the way people know each other online and the type of relationships they make virtually have changed and for the worse. Instead of being a true friend to the people around each other, most are being turned inward, forgetting the true definition of a friend. Human beings have feelings and they feel broken at times and do not always smile but the Internet only shows one's happy moments keeping one from fully being known. The types of friendships, people make these days are quick and short lasting. In real life friendship people see each other at one’s best and worst time and remain there for one another. This can never be compared to a social network friendship. One can only get to know someone by spending time together for the reason that the Internet cannot replace shared experience and personal communication. However, due to the Internet, people can make friends anywhere from the world which was quite impossible in the past era. Finding schools and college friends and getting in touch with them is an advantage that the Internet offers to us. However, true friendship is not possible if two people, do not spend time together, share their common interests, talks a lot and help each other both in good and bad times. Rightfully, life is meant to be lived and have many physical experiences, bonding with another person’s physical presence. Instead of being a true friend to the people around each other, they are spending time online to make friends. This is, in my opinion, is a negative aspect of the digital era. In conclusion, making friends beyond boundaries and getting in touch with childhood friends could be the advantages of the digital era, but the way we are becoming dependent on the technology and the way we are pretending to maintain our friendship online have negative consequences on our personal, moral and social aspects.