Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected personal relationships? Has this become a positive or negative development?

It is true that new technologies have changed how people communicate with one another. The advancements in technology not only bring benefits but also cause some negative impacts to our lives. In the past, it took long time to deliver messages from a sender to a receiver because people had to physically travel to the destination. Now individuals can use mobile phone services and instant messaging software such as Skype and Google Talk to contact their family and friends across vast geographical distances. This change has reduced a lot of time consumption and travel costs. For example, video conferencing technology helps businessmen attend a conference remotely without temporary travel limitations and mobility impairment; distance-education technology allows students to take courses online without physically sitting in a classroom. However, there are also some drawbacks of telecommunications. It could be harder to explain a complex situation than face-to-face communications. Misunderstanding and conflict may occur when reading an electronic email because a person is not able to know the sender's tone, emotional cues, and body language. Additionally, excessively using modern communication tools may cause a person become antisocial and isolated. New technologies make communications simpler and faster than before. Because of that, people might not be willing to spend time on face-to-face communications. Therefore, intimate conversations and personal interactions might decrease. Individuals might not have strong social involvements in their relationships, and they will feel lonely and socially awkward. In conclusion, the great technological developments have transformed the way people keep in touch with others in various ways. It make conversations happen efficiently; however, due to the simple process, people may lose the interpersonal skills in a social setting.