Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Is this a positive or negative development?

Presently, human interaction has evolved due to technology. As with everything else in this world, the outcome is good and bad. Ironically, advancement of communication devices which are designed to bring people closer together, isolates individuals as well. Looking at the upside of change, close bonds between friends and family members have grown closer. No longer does one have to wait until physically meeting up to catch up on each others lives. Telling the loved one the day's events is a click away. For instance, a photo of lunch on instagram, a location share on whatsapp etc. are just a few conveniences which have brought people together. Additionally, loved ones who are maintaining long-distance relationships don't have to interact with the postman anymore. Video calling via Skype and numerous other apps are filling the void that is typical for a strained geographically unfavourable relationship. Furthermore, professional relationships at the workplace are more effective and productive. This is because, an opinion from an appropriate person at times of troubleshooting can be arranged in minutes, if not locally, then internationally. If there is an upside, rest assured there will be a downside as well. Certain individuals who find communication in the real world to be hard, have found comfort in the virtual world. Nearly every need imaginable can be brought to the doorstep by ordering online by websites such as amazon. Therefore, the need for human interaction is not vital. Moreover, such people have formed communities in the virtual world, making old-fashioned relationships obsolete. In conclusion, modern day technology has made the globe a smaller world by strengthening connections. However, simultaneously, creating individuals who don't seek relationships outside of their computers.