Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

It is believed that individuals have no role to play when the topic of environmental improvement is concerned, as it is thought that only huge industries and government can effect a change. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this notion. Analysing the role of the masses in carrying out proper waste disposal techniques as well as their ability to curb the excessive use of petroleum products will be used to elucidate this claim. To start with, since many solid wastes seen in our surroundings are disposed off from households, good waste disposal practices is the responsibility of the people. By dumping gabbages in a sanitary manner, a cleaner atmosphere can be achieved from the grassroot level, which is composed mainly of the common people. For example, residential estate leaders in Lagos now frequently hold monthly meetings with discussion focusing on maintaining and sustaining a cleaner and dirt-free environment. Therefore, although, it might appears that government and big factories own the finances required to alleviating environmental conditions, the input of individuals in terms of decent thrashing of waste is paramount. Furthermore, petroleum derivatives that contributes to environmental degradation are used by the people and can only be halted by them. These energy sources are fossil fuels that produce tons of toxic gases when used, with subsequent environmental pollution. Individuals can boycott these products for better eco-friendly alternatives such as solar energy and hydroelectric powers in order to prevent further deterioration of our planet. Thus, while it may seems that the leaders and multi-investment business bodies pool the resources to protect the human space, individual contributions are inevitable. In conclusion, after examining the impacts of the members of the public in imbibing a better waste disposal methods as well as curtailing the use of petroleum-based energy sources, it is clear that individuals rather than the politicians and rich businesses are the forerunners in the development of a healthy environment.